Faith – Been there, done that, got the T-shirt

got_faith_t_shirt-r0af6a7927836432893ea5e0eab5a6ec8_8n2ib_324For the most part, I enjoy my life as I live it. However, I think more often than not, if someone was perched on my shoulder observing,  they might be inclined to think that I live my life of faith with all the zeal of someone who has “Been there, done that, got the T-shirt”.

I suppose I could blame the church for my state of being as many do with respect to their lives, but I don’t believe that is the correct place to lay the blame. I know that Jesus has a personal relationship with me and since He is the author and perfecter of faith (Hebrews 12:2) I think that when I have lackluster faith it must trace back to that relationship.

In 1 Corinthians 2:10-13 I believe that Paul, the author, writes that because I’m a Christian the Spirit of God is willing to search and reveal to me the thoughts of God as they relate to me. This passage also makes it clear that the Spirit’s parameters for this thought search are to the depths of God pertaining to the things given to us by God.

That is amazing and assuming I understanding it correctly then any of my lackluster faith cannot be blamed on God. In Jeremiah 29:13-14 God makes it clear that “You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart. I will be found by you”.

I think it is God’s intention and for my benefit, that I continually search for and by God’s grace discover faith. There are many ways to explore for faith and I’m hoping that here on Facebook we can share in our journeys towards discovery of faith. My plan is to write once a month and I’m hoping some readers will consider what I write and comment as they see fit. My dream is that we all settle in to relationships with Jesus that unsettle any sense that we’ve “Been there, done that, got the T-shirt”.

Question:

If faith is a gift from God (Ephesians 2:8) shouldn’t I just be happy with whatever amount I have?

One comment

  1. danandlindz · April 23, 2016

    Interesting question Bryan. I listened to a sermon recently where the preacher was talking about the Holy Spirit, and about hearing some say that since we’ve received the Holy Spirit at salvation, we don’t need to pray for more of Him. In response the preacher quoted Spurgeon saying that this was like saying that since Christ already died for our sins, we didn’t need to ask forgiveness anymore – why bother with confession?
    And yet in Luke 11 Jesus exhorts His disciples to pray/ask for the Holy Spirit (Luke 11:5-13), just as in the Lord’s prayer in the first 5 verses of the chapter He includes confession as a regular practice in our prayer.

    It seems to me the same applies to faith – I was thinking about Luke 17:5, where in response to Jesus calling His apostles to something that was hard for them, they asked Him to increase their faith. Also been thinking about Romans 1:5/16:26 which talks about the obedience that comes from faith/the obedience that is faith. It seems to me that faith and obedience are so closely related, and asking God for more, along with obeying what we know, seems to be an excellent method of growing in faith, as well as in the faith. What do you think?

    Like

Leave a Reply

