Fake it Till you make it?

“Fake it till you make it” is an expression and a practice that is presented in our culture as an OK means of transitioning from today’s reality to tomorrows possibility. I understand there is a place for this practice but I think in the past I’ve applied it to my faith and I’m not sure I should have.

In my 1st blog, I wrote that I’d like to write about exploring faith and in my self evaluation I rated my faith at times as lackluster. To be fair, my faith journey has included times when I’ve taken steps of faith that were exciting, risk taking and difficult. Hardly what I considered at the time to be lackluster. And yet in hindsight I’d have to admit that sometimes those “steps of faith” were lacking in vitality, force, or conviction with respect to my actual faith. Consciously, or unconsciously I think sometimes I was trying to fake faith till I made faith.

Sometimes in my faith life I’ve attempted to be and do what others were being and doing. For the most part, it wasn’t because of some sort of peer pressure but rather it was because I thought they were doing what God wanted all of us to do. And to do what they were doing put me in the position of faking it till I made it. I wasn’t living by faith. I was living by fake. I had good intentions but I was not really walking by faith as Paul instructs us in 2 Corinthians 5:7. Interestingly, in the Bible version I typically read from, that verse is “for we walk by faith not by sight” and an alternative word that is noted for “sight” is “appearance”. Sometimes I was not walking by faith but rather by appearance. I was doing what I could to appear to be what I thought others were being.

As I’ve aged (and hopefully gained some wisdom) I’ve come to appreciate the understanding of the psalmist who wrote Psalm 46. In verse 10 it’s written “Cease striving and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” When I have had vitality, force or conviction in my faith it’s come when I’ve been at peace with who I am and what I’m doing and God has exalted Himself in my mind and heart. Then without having to fake anything I’ve taken simple steps suitable for me in a faith direction that I don’t feel at all compelled to compare with anyone else.

God doesn’t fake anything and He doesn’t expect me to.

One comment

  1. danandlindz · April 23, 2016

    I came across a song by the Gettys recently with some excellent lyrics – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fXB8ihepUpE
    As well as a book – Fresh Faith, by Jim Cymbala, that was really challenging and encouraging. If you’ve ever had a chance to read it, I’d be really interested in hearing your thoughts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

